Monday, June 23, 2014

FOTA Picnic - June 17, 2014

The Friends of the Arts celebrated another season of art with a picnic at the beautiful home of founder Aileen Thomas’s daughter Laurie Dean.  Co-hosting the event were Mary Melvin, Jane Lunney, Dinah Little and Aileen Thomas. Next year’s officers were named: President, Jeanne Shaw; Vice-President, Joan Machinchick; Treasurer, Annette Uroskie; Recording Secretary, Dinah Little; and Corresponding Secretary, Donna Rhody.

FOTA Scholar Chair, Gibby Edson announced the winners of this year’s competition:  Ja Hyun Lim, a sophomore at MICA; and Yiqi Yu, also a sophomore at UMD-College Park. She also introduced guest, Don Dement who, with Gail Higginbotham and Richard Niewerth, was one of the 2013-14 FOTA Scholar jurors.  
The FOTA Scholars will do a presentation of their works at the September 9, 2014 meeting.

Friend Grace Stark will curate an exhibit of FOTA artists’ works at Ginger Cove on August 2, 2014. The exhibit will be open to FOTA members and their families. And, the special Barbara Award for extraordinary service to FOTA was presented to Joan Driessen. 

Scholar Juror Don Dement and Friend Gibby Edson    

Anne Kraemer; Marie Cushing; Amante Carlquist; new member Shirley St. Martin

Friend Mary Ellen McGrath with her guests
Betty Ann Jeffery and Doris Gomoljak, and Friend Founder Aileen Thomas 

Friends Kathy McGilvrey, Ellenor Alavarez, Terry Adams, 
Barbara DiCenso and Joan Driessen

No comments:

Post a Comment